Business travel

Germany adds 12 countries to ‘high risk’ Covid list

Germany has added 12 other countries and regions to its list of “high risk” areas due to the spread of Covid-19, including Singapore, Oman, Pakistan and Ukraine.

The full list of countries that were moved to the high-risk category from Germany on Sunday January 30 are as follows: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Cuba, New Caledonia (French overseas territory), Guatemala, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan , Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Singapore and Ukraine.

Travelers from the countries and regions on this list must present proof of vaccination or recovery from Covid-19 in order to enter Germany without having to self-isolate.

Meanwhile, 13 countries and regions in Africa have been removed from the high-risk category: Angola, Burundi, Eswatini, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Travelers from these countries can now enter Germany without a quarantine requirement, even if they are not vaccinated or recently recovered from Covid.

The announcement of the changes was made by Germany’s Robert Koch Institute, the country’s disease prevention and control agency.

Nearly 150 countries worldwide are still classified as high-risk destinations by German authorities due to the spread of the Omicron variant, including most European countries.

Unvaccinated travelers from these countries must provide a negative Covid test result and are subject to a 10-day self-isolation period, although this can be shortened by testing negative on the fifth day.

All travelers from high-risk destinations, regardless of their vaccination status, must complete a digital registration form upon arrival in Germany.